The Multitalented Diva

Exclusive : Interview with Neha Sargam

 

” ANY PERSON WHO DOES SOMETHING  ‘INSPIRATIONAL‘  IN LIFE INSPIRES ME….”

 

     In a short span of time Neha Sargam, through her amazing portrayal of the girl-next-door Nivedita in the TV show ‘Chand Chupa Badal Mein’ , has won hearts of many. We have the pleasure to present Neha Sargam…..

Yes, Neha Sargam talks to her fans in an exclusive interview with Shova Tasnim…..

 

Who is your role model and inspires you the most?

I think my role model …well first of all is my grandfather…I do not personally get inspired or follow him, I actually worship him, and it is a blessing in life. Then I think my parents and my sister and everybody. One day I saw a person walking on the road and I noticed something about that person which inspired me. Any person who does something ” inspirational ” in life inspires me. And you people, you people come in that, you guys inspire me a lot.

Neha.. tell us a bit about your family, the support they have given to you, by your sister and parents, for your career in acting.

Well my family have supported me a lot in my career. At first when I was offered the role, I was a bit hesitant, but my parents have encouraged me and told me to try this opportunity that has come in my way. So I owe it to them that I did CCBM and they have supported me in every way possible and were there for me in each and every step. They love me unconditionally.

So did you ever think when you recently joined the TV industry that you will manage to capture so many hearts?

No, absolutely not. I never even thought of getting into the industry so this was a thought which was far, far behind. I mean I never ever planned for coming into the television industry. So to be in everybody’s heart wasn’t intentional, I wasn’t really aiming to be in everybody’s heart but striving to do my best and work from my heart and this lead me to capture the unconditional love of my fans.

After entering Chand Chupa Badal mein (CCBM), in the very first shoot what was it like? What was your initial thoughts when you began your first ever shoot?

Well I was very nervous; it was the first time I was ever acting. That was an experience which I can’t really explain. I think I was that nervous that I forgot half of the script. Then had to motivate myself to give the best I can… That was a scene that I wasn’t at all acting….I was all nerves as I never acted before. The first ever scene I did was that I was crying because my brother, Yash, was missing, that was the first scene I did in Shimla. That happens to be the first scene I have done, and a very emotional one which made it more difficult. I was curious as we did not know what has happened before, what will happen after this.

Nivedita Searching for Yash Scene:

Your best friends and close friends on the sets?

I think all the cast members were the best of my friends. Dadaji, Yashodhara Dadi, Chanchal Chachi were all very good friends. Also Vandana Chachi is a very good friend of mine, and then there is Rishma who played Divya. Me and Rishma actually gel a lot, others were surprised that we to gel so well… We shared the same make up room always and we are best of friends. Yash and aditiya bhaiya, Viren and Siddharth there were also my close friends. I think all of us bonded well together and got along and we actually had a blast together. I would always look forward to having fun and masti on the sets.

How would you sum up the CCBM experience?

It was a rollercoaster ride for me, it was very long, I definitely enjoyed the entire time. Every single day was a memory; every moment is a memory to cherish my entire life. I was with the best production house, best cast members, and I have been blessed to work in such a production house

Neha… we know you came on Indian Idol 4, and aspire to be a singer. So what was it like to be in Indian Idol 4 audition? Any funny or memorable memories you like to share with us? 

Indian Idol 4 audition was very nice, I thought I wasn’t able to perform as I wasn’t well …there was no such particular memory but just being a part of Indian idol is itself a memory, a nice memory to cherish.

You are first a singer. You are trained as a classical singer and have a strong background. Do you give performances in classical singing? Do you participate in the classical musical shows? Or have you completely diversified to Bollywood music? Any performances coming up?

I did perform in functions which was organised mainly for my Grandfather. There were many other daily competitions which I did participate. But nowadays I am away from all these. But if there is an opportunity I will be willing to performing classic music on stage. Though many people are not aware that I can perform classical music….

The audience and musicians have diversified. We do not have much audience for classical music these days, which is quite sad. Even big names in classical music have diversified to Bollywood music. I too have diversified myself but I am always there for any kind of classical music .

Are you planning to come out with a musical album in near future? What are your plans with respect to your singing?

I think it’s a good idea that is given. I have not planned anything as such *laughs* but that’s a very nice idea that I should consider releasing a music album. I would love to do a music album if I am offered or if I can find a way then I would definitely make one.

What do you enjoy more – Singing or Acting? Will you share your most memorable moments with both? Which was the most precious moment in your singing? What was your favourite scene as an actress?

I think that we can’t differentiate between the two of them because both acting and singing are best forms of art. I think acting is also an art and you can’t decide between these two significant things, like which is more enjoyable. I think both are equally important in therecent time.  I enjoy and love both acting and singing. Both hold many memorable and precious moments.

In CCBM, well, yes there is a particular scene where Nivedita stood up for her father Keshav. It was a scene; there is a big family confrontation. Nivedita’s Father is accused falsely and is insulted. Nivedita comes forward and starts defending her father against Dadaji, Dadiji, Siddharth and the rest of them. This was the best scene. I enjoyed doing it, because I actually felt like I was standing up for my own father. It was one of the most memorable and well conducted scenes.

Nivedita standing up for her father Scene:

On your FaceBook you said you will consider coming back into TV industry, so what kind of role would you like to do?

You people have give me an idea, I have been on India forum for a couple of times and there was a couple of fans who wanted me to host a reality show like saregamapa little champs, and even you people have suggested this, so I think I will definitely consider that if it comes my way, I would really love be a host of a reality show similar to this. Also I would love to do a character  which is very close to how I am , that means bubbly and fun loving like me and then the 3rd option which I will like to do is something that is periodic , like which shows the earlier era , something that has a periodic effect.

So what have you been doing these days as you are free from shooting and have a massive break? Anything fun and exciting happened? Any plans?

I have not given any audition in this break as of now but I will start later on. I think I will be enjoying my time with my family. Being in Mumbai for one year I still haven’t seen the gateway of India so I am going around Mumbai with my family, exploring, visiting place, shopping.

What is your idea of romance? What is your dream guy like?

I am not very much of a romantic person. My idea of romance… actually I haven’t given a thought.  The dream guy….well he has to be like my father.

What were your friends’ reactions to your celebrity status?

They were happy and actually they were prepared for it, they had confidence in me, so they were not much surprised that I got an offer.

Even in a short span of time you have managed to have a massive fan following you so any interesting incident with a fan?

Mmm I remember one of the fans who came from Kalyan –  few stations away from Mumbai. He was roaming on the sets waited for 6 hours to get a picture with me and but I was unaware that he was a fan and I mistook him for someone’s relative. I later came to know that he came all the way from Kalyan to meet me and get a picture clicked because he, his family members n his neighbours were very fond of me. But he was too shy and hesitant.. then my hair dresser encouraged him to come forward and meet me. I was very touched and gave my gratitude and respect for whatever he did…There are many other incidents as well but these ones remain really close to my heart..Often fans who met said “Please aap ro mat warna hum sab bhi rone lagte hain..We love when you smile and giggle..”

You are currently being missed so much by all your fans, any message you would like to convey?

I want to convey to my fans that whatever I am is because of them. I never expected this huge fan following or I never imagined people would be loving me so much so I am really overwhelmed. I am really grateful to all my fans that they have been loving me like this, this is an unconditional love and it’s a great thing to have. I love you all and thank you for your love and support and your comments.

********************

28 responses

  1. babita

    hi neha your interview very nice. I LOVE YOU VERV MUCH.

    September 11, 2011 at 1:56 am

  2. Anjali

    Great interview. Nice questions asked & nice answers by neha.

    Neha, we all are happy to hear from you.. love you, please come back soon on tv.
    Good job done by GOG. Hats off, girls! Please bring more..
    -Anjali.

    September 6, 2011 at 6:16 pm

  3. rahul

    my god AWESOME…is not the word loved it did u people personally get her interview…i can’t believe it oh!!!! god!!!! she is so charming with her interview..awesome work girls…love neha even more…

    August 30, 2011 at 7:10 pm

  4. Wow it’s beautiful interview I just adore Neha very much. Thanks shova for taking this interview

    August 30, 2011 at 4:18 pm

  5. Reshma

    yipppeeeee……finally got neha jaannnuus interview…..
    hey gang of gals…..u all rock sweeties!!!!
    donno wat to say….totally bowled by reading this….
    love u love u love u loadz n loadz neha darlz….u r such a sweet person…..*hugs*
    loved all ur answers jaan…..u r ma sweetheart…mwaah!!!!
    pls come back sooon…miss u sooooo much!!!

    thanks a lot shova n ashley sweety for bringing this out sooo beautifully….
    love u loadz sana dii for lettin me know abt this…mwaah…*hugs*

    August 30, 2011 at 3:10 pm

  6. surur

    neha…u r so nice.lov u so much…..
    awesome interview

    August 30, 2011 at 1:30 pm

  7. Nirju

    Neha is really cute, simple and down to earth, loved her answers, brilliant and quite impressive….. Hope to see you back soon….

    Thank u Shova and Ashly for this brilliant interview…..

    August 30, 2011 at 7:44 am

  8. monica

    nice interview . loveddd Neha’s answers n questions . Neha is soo sweet . Thanxx ash n vids 2 send me d PM for dis . Hope 2 see Neha again wid Kinshuk . Kinha is such a magical n wonderful pair

    August 29, 2011 at 4:54 pm

  9. Usha

    Thanks for sharing this interview… neha is so sweet… loved her answers she is very open and down to earth person… we are waiting for u neha please come back soon.

    August 29, 2011 at 10:57 am

  10. ramyaks

    thanks a lot for the interview! Looking forward for her new shows soon! Glad that she is enjoying her break!

    August 29, 2011 at 9:33 am

  11. shamima

    awesome interview…… love u neha come back soon

    August 29, 2011 at 5:50 am

  12. Sunayana

    Thanks Sana for sending me this website. Neha it was nice to see ur interview. Miss u sweetie love ur melodious voice and expressive eyes. Best of luck to ur future.

    August 29, 2011 at 4:01 am

  13. Deepa

    Firstly thanks Shova for conducting such an excellent interview of dear Neha.
    CCBM was the only Hindi serial I watched in 20 years. The first time I saw Neha as Nvi, I was attracted to her. There is something very special about this girl. And the past one year I had been following the serial and also the SBS segments of Neha, I was bowled over by the way she talks, laughs and conducts herself, her beauty, her eyes and her down to earth attitude.

    I am very proud to be your fan Neha and thanks for giving us an excellent interview….

    August 28, 2011 at 6:00 pm

  14. That was an excellent interview and good job done by neha fans. Thanks a lot for sending me the link.

    August 28, 2011 at 4:55 pm

  15. bowya

    Thankx my sweet friend sana in IF, who PM about this interview and a big thanx to shovu& gang of girls… U girls really made me very much happy by bringing this interview… Iam missing neha these days and always searching for her interview in IF and tellychakker,,, but could nt get anything… After our CCBM, this is the first time i get my favorite neha’s complete interview, i loved it to the core..

    Neha you are so sweet, i love your acting and singing… Becoz of u i started to see CCBM, i joined IF…. I am totaly blank after reading this…. Hope will see you in a new show soon… All the best, may god bless you…..

    August 28, 2011 at 4:04 pm

  16. lojain

    neha i love u so much u r so sweet …love the whole interview and ur comments and ur answers ….we r so happy to have such awesome actor like u …keep smiling …love u so much …loji

    August 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm

  17. Diya

    Thanks Shova thanks a million for this interview, I just loved all the answers Neha gave. Neha really miss you very much, Hope you soon decide to come back, Really want you back onscreen

    August 28, 2011 at 3:44 pm

  18. Abhiram

    Thanks very much Shova for the interview ! Loved Neha’s answers and reading more about her.Thanks once again.
    Om Sai Ram.

    August 28, 2011 at 3:17 pm

  19. yamuna

    shova di and g.o.g great job yaar thanks for this wondeful interview …
    neha must say thats brilliant answers i was like smiling throughout reading …god bless u di ,u r the sweetest and most down to earth person ,love u lot
    come back soon

    August 28, 2011 at 3:10 pm

  20. hey thanx for the lovely interview…you gals made it possible…
    love neha’s answers …and happy to know more about her..now hoping to see her back again

    August 28, 2011 at 2:54 pm

  21. kulsum

    WOW nice interview she is soo good !!!
    hope she cum back soon !!

    August 28, 2011 at 2:47 pm

  22. fantastic interview..perfect questions and perfect answers…neha,love u for what u r…loving u more n more by each passing day..ur character is ur asset…ur down to earth and lovable nature will bring u to different heights of success in ur life… i’m so so proud to call myself as a neha fan..thnx a loads fro making this interview possible…and i’m waiting and praying hard to hear some news abt ur comeback..may god bless u with all happiness n success in ur life..love u so much..thnk u…thnk u…and shovu and ashuma..*hugs*…done a great job….

    neha…love u so much…n have no words to express our gratitude for fulfilling our wish…like vids said still i’m wondering if this is a dream…:D..

    August 28, 2011 at 2:33 pm

  23. Neha thank you soo much for agreeing for this interview..you made alot of ur fans really happy with this interview….it was a pleasure doing your interview….love you soo much….thankyou again on behalf of G.O.G

    Also Thanks guys for all ur comments…it was a pleasure to do the interview with neha and its a pleasure to see you all so happy….a special thanks to Ashly for making it so beautiful and well set out and a special thanks to G.O.G with out u all nothing is possible 😉

    August 28, 2011 at 2:26 pm

  24. Rajeshwari

    Thanks Neha…it was very nice to more about you…..a big big thank you to Shovu for this exclusive interview 🙂

    August 28, 2011 at 2:18 pm

  25. ketty0411

    Neha thanks for taking time for interview, wonderful answers. You are the sweetest.

    Thanks Shova for all your efforts and Ashly for making it beautiful. Love you guys.

    August 28, 2011 at 2:12 pm

  26. Minu

    And thanks Ashly for the beautiful presentation. Its such a treat!

    August 28, 2011 at 2:10 pm

  27. Minu

    Fantastic interview! Great questions and such thoughtful and wonderful answers by Neha. Thank you Shova and Neha!

    August 28, 2011 at 2:09 pm

  28. vmenon08

    Neha – brilliant answers.Love your down to earth nature and personality. No wonder we are so crazy about you….
    Shova thank you so much for your efforts and Ashu you have made it so lovely. I am very very proud to be a Neha fan.
    Still pinching myself and wondering if this is a dream 🙂

    August 28, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Leave a Reply

