The Multitalented Diva

Neha Sargam: New member of STAR Parivaar – indya.com

On the other hand is Siddharth, the scion of a business family, who is completely oblivious to his own feelings for Nivedita. The show has being shot in the beautiful environs of Himachal Pradesh; ‘Chaand Chupa Badal Mein’ narrates the story of Nivedita and Siddharth. The show revolves around how Nivedita’s self- imposed restrictions and resistance towards love, prevent her from committing to a relationship with Siddharth. The character of Nivedita is played by Neha Sargam from Patna whose remarkable talent was noticed when she participated in Indian Idol 4.

We spoke to Neha Sargam aka Nivedita about her role and more.

Tell us something about your character?

“Nivedita is a young girl of around 20 years of age, having lost her mother at a tender age; she is brought up by her grandmother. Apart from her grandmother she lives with her father and brother. Her father has contributed very little to her upbringing as due to a failure in his business he has become bitter and cynical about everything in life. Nivedita’s younger brother Yash is a fairly successful man and well settled with a good job and is upwardly mobile. On the other hand Nivedita – having gone to a Hindi medium school is not as confident as her brother. Besides that the day to day demands of her middle class existence prevented her from being a carefree young girl like the other girls of her age. All this put together has made Nivedita shy and diffident. She is not very confident of doing simple things in life like talking to people other then her immediate family. She avoids going out, mixing with people, shies away from any human contact. Apart from all these hindrances that she faces Nivedita is a responsible person. She has many strengths and talents but is not aware of using it due to her extremely shy nature. Nivedita has a rare insight into people and their behavior as she is a keen observer. In spite of sitting at home she has kept herself busy by learning new things like sewing, knitting, embroidery and excels in the same as she has a great aesthetic sense.”

How did you bag the role of Nivedita?

“I didn’t audition for it but Rajan Sir saw the clippings of my auditions for a reality show on Youtube and at the time I was in Patna preparing for my MBA entrance exam. I got a call from him and he told me about the offer. I was confused about who was calling but he said that he was Rajan Shahi producer of Sapnaa Babul Ka Bidaai and Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hain and I was in shock to hear from him. He said I had little time: just enough to pack my bags and come to Mumbai. I was little apprehensive but my parents assured that if things didn’t happen in Mumbai they would get my admissions done for MBA and so I just accepted it.”

Tell your fans a little bit about Neha Sargam?

OK: Birth Date: 4th March 1988

Interests: Singing, watching television shows and movies, dancing

When did the acting bug bite you?

I had never thought that acting bug will bite me but during my childhood days I used to do scenes in front of the mirror and that time I didn’t know that I would land up in acting one day.

Favourite Actor: Hrithik Roshan

Favourite Actress: Madhuri Dixit

Favourite Film: Dil Chahta Hain

A role I would love to reprise: I think Madhuri Dixit’s role from Hum Aapke Hain Kaun…

Did you attend acting classes?

Not really but during the start of the show I did an acting session with Bidaai veteran actress Amardeep Jha

Preconceived notion of the television industry:

I always knew that acting is a great platform and I am glad all the serials are female oriented and for that I feel very proud.

If not an actor: Singer

via Neha Sargam: New member of STAR Parivaar – indya.com.

Leave a Reply

